If you already pay for UAV Forecast and like it, keep it: it forecasts hourly up to 15 days ahead and shows satellite counts and no-fly maps that Altiwind doesn't have. If you want a free forecast for today and the next 24 hours, with wind at flight height and a check against the nearest airport's METAR, Altiwind's free tier covers that without an account.
What changed at UAV Forecast
UAV Forecast's free tier shrank in steps:
- In August 2024 its App Store description still said the free version showed a limited number of forecast hours. By September 2024 that line was gone, replaced by an invitation to subscribe for 24-hour, 7-day or 15-day forecasts.
- In a reply on the App Store listing, the developer says real-time hyperlocal forecasts now need a subscription, the no-fly-zone map stays free, and new customers get a 7-day free trial.
- Prices went up during 2026. In the February 2026 listing, Hobbyist cost $1.99 a week or $25.99 a year and Professional $49.99 a year. In October 2026 the same plans cost $2.99 a week, $39.99 a year and $59.99 a year.
- Some App Store reviews object to the paywall, such as one from November 2024 titled "Used to be free".
Side by side
Checked October 2026. UAV Forecast prices are from the US App Store, and other stores and currencies differ.
| Altiwind | UAV Forecast | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free | Hobbyist $2.99/week, $5.99/month, $39.99/year; Professional $4.69/week, $9.49/month, $59.99/year; Elite $8.69/week, $17.49/month |
| Free tier | Today plus the next 24 hours, 1 spot, 1 drone, go/no-go, Kp now, verified badge | No live forecast (preview data); no-fly-zone map; 7-day trial |
| Platforms | Web app, installable on the home screen; native iPhone app planned | iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision, Android |
| Wind at flight altitude | 30, 60, 90 and 120 m (100–400 ft) | Yes, "at any altitude" |
| Gusts | Estimated gusts at each height | Gusts at ground level and at altitude |
| Kp / GPS | Kp now, weighted by latitude | Kp plus GPS, Galileo and GLONASS satellite data |
| Go/no-go per drone | Yes, from your drone's wind limit, with a reason for each check | Green/red "Good To Fly" with configurable thresholds; drone presets not stated |
| Forecast checked against METAR | Yes, nearest airport within 25 km | Not stated |
| Airspace | Not yet; informational overlays planned | No-fly zones and TFRs |
| Account required | No | Not stated |
Where UAV Forecast is better
- Range. Hourly forecasts go out to 15 days. Altiwind covers today and the next 24 hours.
- Satellites. It shows GPS, Galileo and GLONASS data. Altiwind gives a Kp-based GPS note but no satellite count.
- Airspace today. UAV Forecast already maps no-fly zones and TFRs, and the developer says that map is free. Altiwind's airspace overlays are still planned.
- Native apps. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision and Android, in 39 languages on iOS. Altiwind is a web app for now.
- Thresholds. You can configure every threshold. Altiwind uses its default thresholds, with the wind checks set as shares of your drone’s rating.
Where Altiwind is different
- A free tier that really forecasts. Free covers today plus the next 24 hours, with no account, no ads and no trackers. You get one saved spot, one drone profile, the go/no-go score with reasons, Kp now and sun times.
- A forecast that gets checked. The verified forecast compares the last 6–24 hours of wind and gusts at the nearest METAR station with 2–3 models. It then picks the model with the smallest error and shows the bias, e.g. "Checked vs EGLL 40 min ago: running 3 km/h high".
- Wind at four heights. Models give wind at 10, 80, 120 and 180 m. Altiwind interpolates between those levels for 30/60/90/120 m.
- Gusts that are labelled as estimates. The estimated gusts add the 10 m gust excess (gust minus mean wind) to the wind at your height, never less than 1.2× that wind.
- Your drone's limits. Say your drone is rated for 10.7 m/s (24 mph). Sustained wind up to 6.4 m/s (14 mph) counts as within your limits and up to 9.1 m/s (20 mph) as marginal. Estimated gusts are within your limits up to 8.6 m/s (19 mph). The worst check decides the colour. See drone profiles.
- Price. Altiwind is free. UAV Forecast Hobbyist costs $39.99 a year.
FAQ
Is UAV Forecast still free?
Not for live forecasts. Since September 2024 the App Store listing no longer mentions a free forecast, and the free version shows preview data. The developer says the no-fly-zone map is still free, and new subscribers get a 7-day trial (checked October 2026).
What does Altiwind include?
It covers today plus the next 24 hours for one saved spot and one drone profile. You also get the go/no-go score with reasons, Kp now, sun times and the verified badge. There's no account, no ads and no trackers.
Does Altiwind show GPS satellite counts?
No. It shows the Kp index adjusted for your latitude: "GPS: normal" at an adjusted Kp of 4 or less, and "GPS: may be degraded" from 5. More in Kp index for drones.
Can I use both apps?
Yes. You could use UAV Forecast for satellites and airspace, and Altiwind to see how well the wind forecast matches the nearest airport. Altiwind is weather guidance only and not for air navigation, so check your local rules.